Photographers Association Elects New Executive

Photographers Association Elects New Executive



The Gambia Association of Professional Photographers (GAPP) over the weekend held its congress where they elected new executive members to steer the affairs of the association for the next four years.

The two-day congress, which was held at the Alliance Francaise Gambiene along Kairaba Avenue, attracted hundreds of professional photographers to listen to the association’s past four years activity and financial reports before electing their new executive members.

Shiekh Omar Jallow, Director of Performing Arts at the National Council for Arts and Culture, applauded the association members for their commitment to the development and promotion of the profession in the country. He said his institution has also helped many other associations like film producers, musicians and music promoters to prepare them for the implementation of copyright protection and economic benefit.

Also speaking, Hassoum Ceesay, Director of the Copy Rights at the National Council for Arts and Culture, commended the members for the good work they have been doing during the last four years.

The association’s incumbent president, Dawda Bayo, who also delivered the activity report on behalf of the secretary general, said since their 2012 election when he first came into office, he and his executive had registered numerous development.

One of their successes, he went on, was the sucessful conduct of photographic competition, trainings and fund raising activities.

Bayo indicated that the association has also partnered with The Gambia Press Union, Alliance Franco Gambiene and other institutions to defend and serve the interest of professional photographers across the country.

He thus called on all the members to take the association seriously, noting that henceforth, photographers would enjoy copyright protection and other benefits.

He thanked the management of Trust Bank Limited and Techno Photo Lab for sponsoring the implementation of some of their activities.

At the event, the incumbent president, Dawda Bayo was re-elected as President, while Christ Eberendu was elected as vice president and Uthman Jeng as the secretary general. Dr. Manneh and Amat Panneh were elected as Public Relations Officer and Program Coordinator respectively.